Promoting Paradise – Part 4

As the end of our 50th anniversary celebration of Strange Paradise nears, here is another selection of vintage promotional material from the series’ archives.

Colin Fox photo

Colin Fox promo photo

SP is Intriguing

Portland Oregonian 8-23-69Minneapolis Star 9-12-69

TV Guide - Detroit Oct 4-10 1969

TV Guide (Detroit) – October 4, 1969

NOTE:  The text item above referencing KGW-TV is from the August 23, 1969 edition of  The Portland Oregonian.  The text item referencing the Twin Cities’ Channel 5 comes from the September 12, 1969 edition of  The Minneapolis Star.

The Conjure Doll  –  9/12/19

5 thoughts on “Promoting Paradise – Part 4

  1. Never saw these ads and reviews. I watched the show on a Boston channel so it is interesting to read what was said in other parts of the USA. I’ve not seen that promo photo of Colin before either. Thanks for posting!

    Like

    • I’m here. Used to be on that group. SP is somewhat of an obsession with me, since I chose to be an actor after watching the show. Now here I am in NYC!

      Love this and Michelle’s tumblr. Lots of food for thought as well as laugh out loud observations

      Like

      • Great to see you here, Barbara! Sorry it’s taken me so long to extend a welcome to you, but I haven’t had time to pay much attention to my blog lately. But believe me when I say it’s wonderful to have you on board.

        Like

  2. Interesting articles! The mention that Jacques’ portrait “has been moved” in the one article suggests that the disappearing portrait was originally diegetic (meaning that both the characters and the audience can see that it has disappeared), like in the books. I wonder why they changed that? (I don’t think it’s just because the props crew got sick of swapping out the portrait with the blank canvas. The fact that the characters discuss the still-visible portrait’s resemblance to Jean Paul starting in Episode 6 indicates that it had to have been a deliberate change made early in the show’s run.)

    Like

Leave a comment